Uncategorized

I’m off to Argentina

For those of you who don’t know I will be off to Argentina to start a new job at the end of the month. For those of you who do know it then you will know that this has been a long time coming. I was due to start my job, at the Universidad de Buenos Aires in the Faculty of Natural Sciences, in April but, due to various bureaucratic meanderings,* I have only just been issued a Visa. I now have both a flight date and a valid visa so I am set to depart the UK on the 29th August at about ten in the evening from Heathrow.

What am I going to do there? Well, I applied for a postdoctoral fellowship last year with my soon-to-be-bosses to CONICET (Consejo Nacional de Investigaciones Científicas y Técnicas), which is like the EPSRC in the UK and funds scientific research in Argentina, the project involves crystal engineering of iridium nitrosyl complexes so there will be synthesis (yay/eek), lots of crystallography (hopefully), computational chemistry (woo!) and some electrochemistry (my favourite¡).

I still haven’t sorted out minor details (such as where I am going to live) but I will trying to keep things updated on here and Facebook.

*Although the application was made in June 2012 the decision regarding the grant was only made in December 2012 and the start date was April 2013 but there was a delay with immigration and then various delays with the Argentine Consulate in London.

One thought on “I’m off to Argentina

Leave a Reply

